BGA Mods Rework and reballing support forum

Worldwide Scotle, Honton and Achi Reseller
Site Announcements
Congratulations to
cruzpablo


Welcome to BGA Mods Rework Support Forum

Please include pictures to help speed up a solution


Our Worldwide Site

BGA Mods Store

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:49 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:10 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:11 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Lockerbie

tahitian954
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Set up: Scotle ir pro, Atten 8586, omega tc.
There's a similar thread about this but I dont want to hijack someone elses. I re-balled a 60g back compatible ps3 yesterday, when I tried to test it, I switched the back switch on.. stand-by light came on, touched the power button on front and it immediately shuts down, the green light shows for a split second nothing else.
Took it apart again, made sure the power button ribbon cables were ok which they were, then took the power supply and checked that... it gives 5v at the back where it joins to the mobo, and 12v underneath where the two large pins slide into it (I bridged wire 1 and 5 at the back to test this), tested fuses inside power supply as-well which were ok, so im assuming the power supply is good. I dont have any experience with ps3, but im starting to think bridged solder under rsx, as it acts like a short, had a look around the rsx where I was working, cant find anything there causing a bridge. Should I remove the rsx and start again?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:21 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:09 pm
Posts: 228
Location: west yorkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times
Set up: scotle ir6000 v4, t8120 preheater and t835 ir, 853a preheater and 858d hot air
check for missing caps around the rsx area if all there then check fuses, if all ok then possibly a short under rsx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:11 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Lockerbie

tahitian954
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Set up: Scotle ir pro, Atten 8586, omega tc.
All caps are present, and checked fuses, lifted rsx to check as I had convinced myself it was a bridged joint.... nice clean lift, no bridges. Ive went around the rsx area with a magnifier aswell to check for stray solder, cant find anything!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:31 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:11 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Lockerbie

tahitian954
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Set up: Scotle ir pro, Atten 8586, omega tc.
Is the way I tested the power supply reliable? Im wondering if im wasting my time looking for a short on the mobo, probably something simple that im overlooking!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:24 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:11 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Lockerbie

tahitian954
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Set up: Scotle ir pro, Atten 8586, omega tc.
Update on this one, still not fixed, ordered another psu which arrived today...... still the same. Sits no prob with standby light on, soon as I press power button, the green light comes on for a split second then the whole thing shuts down. I doubt it very much, but I cant find the short, could it be bridge under cpu?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:13 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:47 pm
Posts: 1490
Location: North london
National Flag: Great Britain
Has thanked: 186 times
Been thanked: 373 times
Set up: T8280 and ayoue 968 scotle ir6000 pr1000 lcd separator
Maybe it's not a chip
But the psu has gone faulty standby voltage is low so it only needs small
Amount of current as soon as you switch in it might overload the psu cutting out the unit

_________________
http://www.bgareworkstation.co.ukImage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:25 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:11 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Lockerbie

tahitian954
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Set up: Scotle ir pro, Atten 8586, omega tc.
Thats exactly what I was thinking Tony, but I ordered another psu for it which arrived this morning and its exactly the same symptoms. Certainly not impossible with ebay, but the listing said it was tested and working so thats all I have to go on. Im not sure if my testing is sufficient tho, heres how I tested...
I tested output at the back on standby from the 5 line chord.. line 1 + 2 = 5v, line 3 + 4 = ground, and I assume line 5 is for when it powers up from the power button?
I then bridged line 1 and 5 to test for 12v underneath where the two large pins slide into the psu, and it gives 12v, and thats how I tested the first psu.
I was doubting my testing method so I thought I should try another psu, but its still the same problem!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:07 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:09 pm
Posts: 228
Location: west yorkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times
Set up: scotle ir6000 v4, t8120 preheater and t835 ir, 853a preheater and 858d hot air
tahitian954 wrote:
Update on this one, still not fixed, ordered another psu which arrived today...... still the same. Sits no prob with standby light on, soon as I press power button, the green light comes on for a split second then the whole thing shuts down. I doubt it very much, but I cant find the short, could it be bridge under cpu?


that sounds exactly like a missing/moved smd cap near the rsx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:08 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:09 pm
Posts: 228
Location: west yorkshire
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times
Set up: scotle ir6000 v4, t8120 preheater and t835 ir, 853a preheater and 858d hot air
where abouts in the world are u based?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:21 pm 
Offline
VIP Member
VIP Member

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:11 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Lockerbie

tahitian954
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Set up: Scotle ir pro, Atten 8586, omega tc.
Im in the uk mate. Thanks for trying to help, im about to give up on this one, and I really dont want to do that!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: